Modern Panes


When measuring, drapery designers always ask whether shades will be mounted inside or outside of the frames. I opt for inside as it seems the most modern and clean of the solutions. Then I saw this image from UK’s House and Garden and realized that perhaps I’ve been incorrect. Designed by Leroy Street Studio – one of my very favorite architectural firms – and a British-based interior designer whose information I have yet to track down, the home is a brilliant mix of textures and materials. While the window design fits with the contemporary aesthetic, the woven roller shades look modern and luxurious outside mounted, so much so that I can’t imagine them any other way. I’m very excited by this revelation and can’t wait to incorporate the same style into a Westchester project I’m currently developing. It will be the perfect solution too marry very contemporary (and luxe) living room furnishings with very traditional Cape Cod architecture.

Gratuitous plug: Here’s an article I wrote for HC&G several years ago about another incredible Leroy Street Studio project. (toot toot)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

