Chicago Cabana Culture


Recently I visited my sisters in Chicago and we spent one hot afternoon at their community pool. It was awesome to jump in the icy water, but what really struck me was the cabana culture. Lining the pool are these little rooms that people rent for the summer and apparently they get really into hanging out there. Think 10am-6pm every weekend for the last 20 years in some cases. Quite the characters, the renters of said cabanas go all out decorating them and I found it amazing how their personalities came through even in such small spaces. I wish I had taken better photos, but I still wanted to get these shots up as a tribute to those fun people I met. From fridge decals, to rugs, to neon flamingos to faux window planters…..these rooms take affordable pool decor to the next level.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

